amazon pixar

On June 16, 2017, the Annecy International Animated Film Festival was attended by members of the Pixar team who gave a conference and presented their upcoming feature film: Coco.

Presented by Co-Director Adrian Molina and Producer Darla K. Anderson, we saw quite a sizeable amount of footage!

Starting with the introduction sequence that runs for approximately five minutes and combines storyboards, layouts and frames which are all finished, the history behind Miguel’s family is thus revealed. The film will open with the bunting you see on all the posters, before then getting to the heart of the matter. And this was also an opportunity to spot the ubiquitous Pizza Planet truck!

affiche poster disney pixar coco

Then we saw two more videos: one depicting Miguel in front of his television as he watches a video of his idol De La Cruz, then one of Miguel taking his guitar to the cemetery and ending up in the Land of the Dead. These are shots we have already seen in various trailers, but this time we get more time to enjoy the footage and reflect on what we see.

artwork coco pixar disney

This was then followed by concept art featuring scenery of the Land of the Dead, its inhabitants and the creatures of Mexican folklore which compose it. These creatures are highly colourful, some are cute and some are threatening. When it came to depicting villages, Pixar drew inspiration from the Aztec civilization and other local architecture.

We were shown another video featuring Miguel as he met his ancestors. This was the opportunity for us to see what risks Miguel was taking by staying too long with them. We hope that the characters we saw will not just be secondary, for they seem to withhold great potential.

image coco disney pixar

A string of concept art and storyboards ensued. One new scene, entirely storyboarded in fact, featured Miguel and Hector singing in front of a crowd. Whilst Hector is presented as the little boy’s “guide” in the Land of the Dead, we do not get much more of an introduction, other than through this scene and animation tests.

Finally, we were shown a video on what went on behind the scenes of the dubbing session, where Lee Unkrich, as a Christmas present, gave Anthony Gonzalez a picture telling him he had been chosen for the part.

capture coco disney pixar

As could be expected, this film is first and foremost musical. Of all the sequences we saw, music withheld great importance and obviously revealed Mexican inspirations.

All in all, Pixar hereby offers us a highly unusual world compared to all those they have come up with up to now. The feature seems very colourful, fun, but we did not get enough sneak peeks that would enable us to see whether a deeper side to the story is planned.



disney store pixar
PARTAGER
Fabien Le Lagadec
Fondateur et rédacteur de Pixar-Planet mais aussi de Disney-Planet.Fr, ancien employé de Disneyland Paris à Toy Story Playland, j'ai 30 ans et je suis Vosgien. En plus de Pixar, passion pour le cinéma, les musiques de films, la nature, l'astronomie...

amazon pixar

A l’occasion du Festival d’Animation d’Annecy, en ce 16 Juin 2017, Pixar était présent pour donner une conférence et présenter son futur film : Coco.

Présentés par le co-réalisateur Adrian Molina et la productrice Darla K. Anderson, nous en avons vu beaucoup !

A commencer par la séquence d’introduction d’environ cinq minutes, mélangeant storyboard,  layout et plans terminés, nous expliquant l’histoire de la famille de Miguel. Le film débutera avec les décorations des fanions que nous pouvons voir sur les affiches, avant d’entrer dans le vif du sujet dans le métrage. Et c’est aussi l’occasion de voir le camion Pizza Planet !

affiche poster disney pixar coco

Puis deux autres vidéos : une sur Miguel devant sa télévision pour regarder une cassette de son idole De La Cruz, puis une sur Miguel prenant la guitare au cimetière et se retrouvant au monde des morts. Des images que nous avons déjà vu dans les bandes-annonces mais que nous découvrons plus longuement ici.

artwork coco pixar disney

S’ensuit ensuite des artworks sur les décors du monde des morts, sur ses habitants et les créatures du folklore mexicain qui le composent. Des créatures qui se voudront très colorées, mignonnes pour certaines et menaçantes pour d’autres. Pour les villages, Pixar s’est inspiré de la civilisation Aztèque et autres architectures locales.

Une autre vidéo est diffusée avec Miguel qui rencontre ses ancêtres. L’occasion de voir ce que risque Miguel a resté trop longtemps avec eux. En espérant que les personnages présents ne soient pas juste secondaires car ils pourraient avoir du potentiel.

image coco disney pixar

D’autres artworks et storyboards s’enchaînent. Dont une nouvelle scène,  tout en storyboard justement, avec Miguel et Hector chantant devant une foule. Alors qu’Hector est présenté comme le “guide” du petit garçon dans le monde des morts, il nous est peu présenté, autre que par cette scène et des tests d’animation.

Enfin, une vidéo nous est montrée sur les coulisses du doublage du film où Lee Unkrich offre comme cadeau de Noël à Anthony Gonzalez un tableau lui indiquant qu’il est retenu pour le rôle.

capture coco disney pixar

Forcément, ce film est avant tout musical. Des passages entendus, la musique a donc bien son importance avec des inspirations mexicaines évidemment.

Au final, Pixar nous offre ici un univers totalement atypique par rapport à ce qu’ils ont fait auparavant. Cela semble très coloré, très amusant mais nous n’avons pas eu d’autres aperçus permettant de savoir si un aspect plus profond de l’histoire est prévue.