amazon pixar

Pixar has made more than twelve feature films as well as some twenty shorts. However, not all of their projects went past beyond the pre-production phase. Some of them were abandoned while others were altered and worked into an existing film. In this feature you can read about the various projects Pixar dropped.

A Tin Toy Christmas.

In 1988, the short film Tin Toy met with great success. After having made several television commercials, Pixar decided to come up with a sequel a year later, this time designed as part of a special event for the television market. They thus expected to broadcast even more thanks to this network.

The storyline featured Tinny, a little musical toy that had ended up in the warehouse of a leading toy store following poor sales. After years of waiting, he wakes up at Christmas and then tries to find his old friends. In his search he will come across a ventriloquist’s dummy and an old toy.

The budget required to make this short film was never fully allocated by the channel that was supposed to broadcast it, which thus brought the film production to a standstill.

tin toy christmas disney pixar

In an interview given to “Makin’ Toons”, Pete Docter went back over the project:

“We sat around, and we thought and we thought. I remember John finally saying, ‘What if we took this ‘Tin Toy Christmas’ and extrapolate it out into a feature?’ Well, we didn’t know what we were doing, so we just said ‘Sure!’.
And that was the beginning of ‘Toy Story'”.

It indeed took John Lasseter two years to get Toy Story up and running. The crews used ideas from the short to work it into the film. Tinny was replaced by Buzz and the ventriloquist’s dummy by Woody. In the short film there was a penguin that became Wheezy the Penguin in Toy Story 2, and a bear whose part was assigned to Lotso in Toy Story 3.

We can notice that the end of Toy Story takes place on Christmas Day, as Tin Toy Christmas was supposed to. Tinny, in fact, had the same prior life experiences as Jessie who was locked away in a box.

tin toy christmas disney pixar

The yellow car.

In 1998, at the time A Bug’s Life was being made, Jorgen Klubien (a Pixarian of Danish descent) had a new film project in mind, one that was meant to be Pixar’s next release. He intended to draw inspiration from his roots to derive a story from them.

“In Denmark there has never been car production because the country is too small. Yet in the 1980s some enthusiastic folks got the idea of making a three-wheeled one-person car that ran on electricity. They put it into production and it worked great in the city, but out on the highway it was too slow. People also thought that (this) car was ugly. I thought that the electric car was ahead of its time, and it struck me odd that my fellow Danes didn’t agree. […] What happened with this car reminded me of “The Ugly Duckling” by Hans Christian Anderson. This famous Danish character wasn’t accepted at first, but in the end it proved to be right on the money.”.

And so he transposed this Danish fairy tale into an American setting. He decided to set the story in a small town where all the inhabitants would be cars. The electric Yellow Car was meant to arrive in town and become the laughing stock of the other cars that ran on petrol. It was gradually to be accepted by the residents and win their sympathy.

yellow car disney pixar

When John Lasseter was shown the story he fell in love with the concept. He kept in mind two characters in particular: a hippie Volkswagen Bus called Fillmore and an army Jeep that went by the name of Sarge.

yellow car disney pixar

Despite his interest in the project, John Lasseter did not find it substantial enough to make a feature-length film. In his view there was need for a stronger-minded character to stand out against the bucolic setting. So he created Lightning McQueen.

As you will have guessed, The Yellow Car gave birth to Cars.

Toy Story 3.

The title of this section may seem surprising, but we will not be bringing up the Pixar film here.

Indeed, according to the terms that bind Disney and Pixar, the characters created by the studios with the hopping desk lamp belong to Disney. In 2004, when the two animation studios were in dispute, Michael Eisner (then Chairman and CEO of The Walt Disney Company) decided to bring out a sequel to Toy Story 2 by entrusting one of their brand-new studios, Circle 7 Animation, with the task.

toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar

Jim Herzfeld was in charge of the screenplay. Buzz Lightyear is shipped to Taiwan – where he was designed – in order to be repaired. The manufacturer issues a mass recall of all the Buzz Lightyears from all over the world. Afraid their friend might be destroyed, Woody and other toys go to his rescue.

toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar

In the end, in 2006, when Disney bought Pixar, Circle 7 Animation was shut down and the story was shelved. The Pixar crew did obviously not keep it in mind when writing the masterpiece we are acquainted with today.

toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar

News toys :

toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar toy story 3 abandonne disney pixar

Monsters, inc 2.

Circle 7 Animation travaillait aussi sur la suite de Monstres & Cie. Le projet fut aussi abandonné. Dans cette histoire, Bob et Sulli partaient à la recherche de Bouh.

newt.

“What happens when the last remaining male and female blue-footed newts on the planet are forced together by science to save the species, and they can’t stand each other?” Such was the storyline in 2008 for newt, which was originally due out in 2011 and was then pushed back to 2012, only to be eventually cancelled in 2010.

Directed by Gary Rydstrom, this film about amphibians was cancelled without Pixar giving any official reasons:

“We have taken newt off of our development schedule to allow our creative teams to focus on these upcoming projects”.

At that point Rio was released in cinemas. Here was a film produced by Blue Sky Studios and whose story was similar to newt. John Lasseter spoke about it during an interview with IGN:

“We’ve put movies into development and some get further than others and then we feel like things just aren’t quite ready we put them to the side and that’s just been put on a shelf and we’ll see where that goes in the future. Its story was very similar to a movie that’s out in theaters right now with a blue parrot. Oh my! Wow, we were like … no, there was no … great minds think alike, I guess. It was really pretty similar”.

We can assume that Pixar preferred to cancel its project so as not to end up involved in yet another plagiarism suit as they were several years earlier with another one of their film productions. A little Easter egg was seen in Toy Story 3 through the door that has a logo with an amphibian on it.

Conclusion.

As we have seen, though these projects were dropped they reappeared in one form or another in another Pixar film production. We can assume on that account that we will be hearing about newt again in a few years’ time.

amazon pixar

Pixar a dépassé la dizaine de long-métrages ainsi qu’une vingtaine de courts-métrages, cependant tous leurs projets n’ont pas dépassé l’étape de la pré-production. Certains ont été abandonnés, d’autres modifiés dans un film existant. Découvrons les différents projets abandonnés de Pixar.

A TIN TOY CHRISTMAS

En 1988, Tin Toy est un court-métrage qui remporte un grand succès. Après plusieurs publicités pour la télévision, Pixar décide un an plus tard de proposer une suite, cette fois-ci destinée pour le marché de la télévision dans le cadre d’un évènement spécial. Ils espèrent ainsi diffuser encore plus grâce à ce réseau.

Le scénario mettait en scène Tinny, le petit jouet musical, dans un dépôt d’un grand magasin de jouets suite à de mauvaises ventes. Après des années d’attente, il se réveille pendant les fêtes de Noël. Il cherche alors à retrouver ses anciens amis. Dans sa quête, il va croiser la route d’une poupée ventriloque et d’un vieux jouet.

Le budget pour réaliser ce court-métrage ne fut jamais attribué entièrement par la chaîne censée le diffuser, bloquant alors la production.

Pixar Planet Disney Tin Toy Christmas Artwork

Dans un entretien pour “Makin’Toons”, Pete Docter revient sur ce projet :

“Nous sommes restés assis et nous avons pensé et pensé. Je me rappelle de John disant finalement “Et si nous prenions “A Tin Toy Christmas” et que nous l’extrapolions dans de nouvelles caractéristiques ?”. Et bien, nous ne savions pas ce que nous allions faire, donc nous avons juste dit “Bien sûr !”. C’était le commencement de “Toy Story””.

En effet, il faudra attendre deux ans pour que John Lasseter mette en place Toy Story. Les équipes reprirent des idées du court pour l’intégrer au film. Tinny fut remplacé par Buzz et la poupée ventriloque par Woody. Dans le court-métrage, il était question d’un pingouin, qui deviendra Siffli dans Toy Story 2, et d’un ours, dont le rôle fut attribué à Lotso dans Toy Story 3.

On peut remarquer que la fin de Toy Story se déroule à Noël, comme devait l’être Tin Toy Christmas. Tinny aura d’ailleurs le même vécu que Jessie, enfermée dans une boîte.

Pixar Planet Disney Tin Toy Christmas Artwork

THE YELLOW CAR

En 1998, lors de la production de 1001 pattes, Jorgen Klubien (un pixarien d’origine danoise) a en tête un nouveau projet de film, qui devait être le prochain film Pixar. Il compte s’inspirer de ses origines pour en tirer une histoire.

“Au Danemark, nous n’avons pas de productions de voitures car le pays est trop petit. Dans les années 1980, quelques personnes très enthousiastes ont eu l’idée de faire une petite voiture destinée à une personne qui fonctionnerait à l’électricité. Elles furent mises en production et ça a très bien fonctionné en ville. En revanche sur l’autoroute, elle était très lente. De plus, les habitants trouvaient la voiture laide. J’ai trouvé cette voiture en avance sur son temps et ça m’a surpris que les danois ne partagent pas cet avis. Ce qui est arrivé à cette voiture m’a rappelé le conte d’Anderson, “Le vilain petit canard”. Ce personnage n’était pas accepté au début mais au final il s’est avéré être juste.”.

Pixar Planet Disney Yellow Car Artwork

C’est ainsi qu’il transpose ce conte danois dans l’ambiance américaine. Il décide de situer l’histoire dans une petite ville où tout les habitants seraient des voitures. La Voiture Jaune électrique devait arriver dans la ville et devenir la risée des autres voitures fonctionnant à l’essence. Progressivement, elle se fit accepter par les résidents et gagna leur sympathie.

Quand John Lasseter découvre l’histoire, il tombe sous le charme du concept. Il retiendra particulièrement deux personnages : un combi Volkswagen hippie, prénommé Fillmore, et une Jeep Militaire portant le nom de Sergent.

Pixar Planet Disney Yellow Car Artwork

Malgré son goût pour ce projet, John Lasseter ne le trouve pas assez consistant pour en faire un long-métrage. Pour lui, il faut un personnage au caractère plus fort pour contraster avec ce paysage bucolique. Il crée donc Flash McQueen.

Comme vous l’aurez deviné, The Yellow Car donna naissance à Cars.

TOY STORY 3

Le titre de cette partie peut surprendre mais ici nous ne parlerons pas du film de Pixar.

En effet, selon les termes qui unissent Disney et Pixar, les personnages des studios à la lampe appartiennent à Disney. En 2004, quand les deux studios ont des litiges, Michael Eisner (le Président de Disney de l’époque) décide de lancer une suite à Toy Story 2 en le confiant à un de leur tout nouveau studio : Circle 7 Animation.

Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation

Jim Herzfeld est chargé du scénario. Buzz l’Eclair est conduit à Taïwan, lieu où il a été conçu, afin d’être réparé. Le constructeur fait un rappel massif de tous les “Buzz l’Eclair” du monde entier. Craignant pour leur ami d’être détruit, Woody et d’autres jouets partent à son secours.

Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation

Finalement en 2006, quand Disney rachète Pixar, Circle 7 Animation est fermé et l’histoire est mise de côté. L’équipe Pixar n’en tiendra évidemment pas compte pour écrire le chef d’oeuvre qu’on connait aujourd’hui.

Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation

De nouveaux jouets étaient aussi envisagés.

Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation
Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné toy story 3 circle 7 animation

MONSTRES & CIE 2

Circle 7 Animation travaillait aussi sur la suite de Monstres & Cie. Le projet fut aussi abandonné. Dans cette histoire, Bob et Sulli partaient à la recherche de Bouh.

Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné monstres cie 2 circle 7 animation Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné monstres cie 2 circle 7 animation
Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné monstres cie 2 circle 7 animation Pixar Planet Disney projet abandonné monstres cie 2 circle 7 animation

NEWT

“La dernière femelle et le dernier mâle d’une espèce d’amphibiens doivent s’unir pour sauver leur race menacée de disparition. Mais ces deux survivants ne peuvent pas se supporter”. Tel était le scénario, en 2008, de newt qui était prévu à l’origine pour 2011, ensuite repoussé à 2012, qui finalement est annulé en 2010.

Réalisé par Gary Rydstrom, ce film sur les amphibiens fut annulé sans de vraies raisons officielles par Pixar :

“Nous avons pris la décision de retirer “newt” de notre calendrier de développement, afin de permettre à nos équipes de créateurs de se concentrer sur les prochains projets”.

Au même moment sortait Rio au cinéma, des studios Blue Sky, dont l’histoire possédait des similitudes avec newt. John Lasseter en parle lors d’une interview pour IGN :

“Nous avons des films en développement et certains arrivent plus loin que d’autres. Nous sentons quand un film n’est pas prêt et nous le mettons de côté, sur une étagère, et nous verrons bien ce qu’il adviendra à l’avenir. Cette histoire est très semblable au film qui sort au cinéma avec le perroquet bleu. Oh non ! Nous étions comme…il n’y avait aucun…les grands esprits se rencontrent, je pense. C’était vraiment assez semblable.”.

On peut supposer que Pixar a préféré annuler son projet pour ne pas se retrouver dans une nouvelle histoire de plagiat comme ils l’ont connu des années plus tôt avec d’autres de leurs productions. Un petit clin d’oeil sera présent dans Toy Story 3 avec un logo d’amphibien sur la porte.

Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork
Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork Pixar Planet Disney Newt Artwork

CONCLUSION

Comme nous avons pu le voir, malgré l’abandon de ces projets, ils sont revenus sous une forme ou une autre dans une autre production Pixar. C’est pourquoi on peut supposer que newt fera à nouveau parler de lui dans quelques années.