amazon pixar

Plagiarism (noun): the process of taking someone else’s work and passing it off as one’s own.
Synonym: usurpation, copying, counterfeiting.

Pixar’s creative force is most impressive, but as is the case in any artistic environment – an exceedingly sizeable one what’s more – coming across two similar storylines is highly likely. This is an opportunity for some to accuse Pixar of plagiarism and sue the company. Who came up with the idea first? Such is the work of the courts. Here we will show you a few examples.

Pixar / Dreamworks : the confrontation.

When Steven Spielberg decided to set up DreamWorks Animation, two animation studios were then to come up against one another.

The first struggle started in 1998 between Pixar’s A Bug’s Life and DreamWorks’ Antz. Two films about insects were released within a month, with Pixar’s coming out after Dreamworks’. Here are their plots:

“A Bug’s Life”: As is the case every year, the grasshoppers come and collect what Princess Atta’s anthill owes them. Flik, a hare-brained inventor, will put the harvest in jeopardy. He decides to go and get help. But he is unaware that the mercenaries he thinks he has found are actually a circus troop.

“Antz”: Z-4195, a worker ant, is in love with the beautiful Princess Bala. Being a mere number among the billions that make up his colony, he stands no chance of catching the eye of the lovely-looking insect. He nevertheless asks his best friend Weaver, a soldier ant, for help to get closer to the one he loves. This is how, by a quirk of fate, he unknowingly interferes with the Machiavellian plan devised by the ambitious General Mandible who quite simply wants to liquidate the colony so as to model one after himself. Z soon finds himself leading a revolution.

Affiches françaises internationales Poster 1001 pattes A bug life Pixar Disney affiche fourmiz

We do, however, know that animated features take around three to four years to materialize, so the two projects did come about at the same time. Who came up with the idea first?

In 1988, Disney was working on Army Ants, in which a peace-loving worker ant teaches his colony important lessons on their very militaristic way of thinking. In the summer of 1994, Joe Ranft and Andrew Stanton drew on one of Aesop’s fables to write the screenplay for A Bug’s Life. John Lasseter showed Disney the screenplay in August. On the same day this announcement was made, Jeffrey Katzenberg, the studio head of Disney, resigned from the company to go and co-found…DreamWorks. Lasseter and Kaztenberg were friends and used to visit one another in their respective offices. Lasseter was delighted to see another animation studio working on computer-generated imagery. When he saw the screenplay for Antz, the relationship between the two men became strained, especially as both films were due to be released the same year.

“We were just cannon fodder in his fight with Disney.” (John Lasseter).

Katzenburg then made Disney and Steve Jobs an offer: if they delayed the release of A Bug’s Life (which was supposed to come out at the same time as The Prince of Egypt, also by DreamWorks), he would stop filming Antz. Disney turned the offer down and DreamWorks denied the whole affair ever happened. Katzenberger managed to release his film before Pixar’s and generated $171 million in gross revenue. A Bug’s Life broke this record figure with $363 million.

tilt flik pixar disney personnage character 1001 pattes a bug life affiche fourmiz

Both films feature the same world but do have not the same style, and the story lines are different (despite the main character rebelling against others so as to bring about some change in society). Pixar went in for a cartoon style, ants that were not very lifelike and varied scenery, whereas Dreamworks chose a serious tone and dark and unvaried scenery (subterranean scenes mainly).

Nemo, Oscar and Pierrot.

2003 and 2004 were the years Pixar’s Finding Nemo and Dreamworks’ Shark Tale were respectively released.

Affiches français Internationales Le Monde de Nemo Finding Pixar Disneygang de requin affiche

“Finding Nemo”: Ever since his wife died, Marlin, a clownfish, is very protective of his son Nemo. The latter does nevertheless not think twice before swimming up to a boat regardless of the scuba diver who will capture him. Along with Dory, a forgetful fish, Marlin will brave the ocean looking for Nemo.

“Shark Tale”: Oscar, a young and talkative fish who is also an inveterate liar, unwillingly witnesses the death of a dangerous shark. He takes advantage of the situation to pass himself off as a great shark hunter. But he is unaware that the shark in question was Don Lino’s son, Don Lino being the head of the shark mob.

This time, plagiarism is not the word to be used here because the films have nothing in common save the ocean, and the visual styles are inverted compared to the previous films. Pixar made a film that was far more true to life whereas DreamWorks ventured into the realms of caricature and cartoonishness.

Once again, Pixar won hands down by making $867 million at the box office whereas the DreamWorks release went unnoticed and grossed $367 million.

marin marlin monde finding nemo disney pixar personnage character gang de requin affiche

Despite this conflict, Pixar was not safe from plagiarism. Franck Le Calvez, a French writer, filed a suit alleging counterfeit against Disney because of his book entitled Pierrot the Clownfish (Pierrot le poisson-clown).

In 1995, Franck Le Calvez dropped a screenplay off at the SACD (“”Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques” or “Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers”) for an animated film featuring a clownfish. Confronted with his failure to find a production company, he decided to publish it as a book in 2002. One year later, however, Pixar released Finding Nemo.

pierrot affiche

“Pierrot the Clownfish”: Pierrot the clownfish lives a happy life with his parents and Rose, their protective anemone…until the day Liona the scorpion fish comes along. Driven away by Rose, Liona has vowed to get his own back and eat the clownfish family. Pierrot has to show courage to get away from him. Fortunately, Pierrot is helped along the way by kind fish he meets during his adventures. Along with his new friends, he discovers that lovely surprises lie in store for him.

What is most disquieting is the beginning of these two stories. Both of them are set inside an anemone where a child loses one of his parents after another fish has attacked them. The rest of the film then differs. As part of his complaint against Disney, Le Calvez demanded that the consumer products – that in his opinion drew heavily on his character– be withdrawn from sale

“We have also found the same supporting characters, such as a surgeon fish
and a cleaner shrimp.” (Frank Le Calvez).

Many booksellers refused to stock Le Calvez’s book after the film was released, accusing him of having plagiarized Disney’s work. Disney, for its part, stated that Pixar’s film was an original work.

“The allegation is totally baseless – “Finding Nemo” is a work that belongs to Pixar and Disney and an independent creation.” (Disney).

On April 20th, 2005, the Tribunal de Grande Instance de Paris (Paris Court of First Instance) dismissed Le Calvez’s case, having ruled that the stories looked the same but were not similar. He was furthermore ordered to pay €38 000 in damages.

Toy plagiarism.

1995 was Pixar’s year when they released Toy Story. Yet that film too was plagiarized.

Dingo Pictures is a German company that knocks off animated classics. After having already copied The Lion King, Bambi and other Disney features, it took on Toy Story.

affiche toy story poster Pixar disney toys affiche

“Toy Story : Once Andy leaves his room his toys come to life. During his birthday party, each toy fears he or she will be replaced. Except Woody, as the cowboy is the little boy’s favourite toy. Except that the last gift to be opened will change all that: Buzz Lightyear soon becomes the number 1 toy.

“Toys” : Al by themselves in a child’s bedroom, the toys are feeling ground-down. A little boy is given a brand new toy for his birthday, one that soon takes over from Pino, who was the little boy’s favourite. Pino then decides to leave and never come back.

These stories are very similar to one another. However, while Pixar has an outstanding visual style, such is not the case for Dingo Pictures. The drawings are rough, the perspectives are not taken into account and there are many continuity errors.

Brazilian Pixar knock-offs.

Vídeo Brinquedo (Toyland Video) is a Brazilian company that distributes Pixar, Disney and Dreamworks rip-off works. Several films made by the animation studios with the hopping desk lamp have thus been cloned.

Ratatoing is based on Ratatouille:

The chef of Rio de Janeiro’s most refined restaurant is…a mouse. Everyone wants to find out Chef Marcell Toing’s secret, Toing who finds his ingredients thanks to three mice.

affiche ratatoing

Os Carrinhos (The Little Cars) strongly draws on Cars :

Warm your engines up and get ready to experience Rodopolis, a town where cars think and talk like people. Everything about this place revolves around speed and racing is the only thing on everyone’s mind.

little cars affiche

Robozinhos (Tiny Robots) draws its inspiration from WALL-E:

In the distant future, the people of Earth have been replaced by robots. These robots have several tasks and duties to perform. Trank, a very outdated robot, lives in New Iron. But when the city leader comes up with a horrendous plan to rule the planet, Trank is the only robot who can stand up to him.

robot affiche

What’s up: Balloon to the Rescue! draws on Pete Docter’s smash hit Up:

Dr. Crumb finds a magical stone that turns his house into a hot-air balloon. This discovery enables the doctor and his companions to go on a long journey. Jean-Pierre, a criminally-minded man, hijacks them. The group will nevertheless have to get out of trouble without the magic stone.

what's up affiche

As is the case with Dingo Pictures, though Vídeo Brinquedo does it using computer-generated imagery, the animation is rough and the textures are not very elaborate. The company even outstripped Pixar by coming up with sequels for Os Carrinhos, none of which fortunately are anything like Cars 2.

The french version of Up.

When Pixar released Up in 2009, some French students from ESRA (the “Ecole Supérieure de Réalisation Audiovisuelle”, a French film school) saw great similarities between this film and the short they had made for the end of the academic year in 2006, entitled Above then Beyond.

Some shots are indeed similar between the short and the feature film, and the idea of the flying house is exactly the same. On the other hand, the screenplay for Up was written in 2004-2005, that is to say two years before the French short. In 2004, the character of Carl Fredricksen had already been thought up, which proves that the character was created before the one invented by the students at ESRA. In 2006, Pixar presented a piece of artwork depicting a house wedged between two buildings.

là-haut affiche là-haut affiche

Conclusion.

It is easy in the film industry to come across numerous films that are similar regarding the screenplay, yet they are not all necessarily instances of plagiarism. Some creators seize the opportunity to press charges for the tiniest or most fortuitous resemblance, with the hope of making money with a lawsuit.

amazon pixar

Plagiat (nom masculin singulier) : fait de copier une oeuvre en se l’attribuant.

Synonyme : usurpation, pillage, démarquage, contrefaçon.

Pixar a une force créatrice très impressionnante mais comme dans tout milieu artistique, extrêmement conséquent, le fait de retrouver deux histoires similaires sont très probables. L’occasion pour certains d’accuser Pixar de plagiat et de les traîner au tribunal. Qui a eu l’idée en premier ? Tel est le travail de la justice. Nous allons vous présenter quelques exemples.

PIXAR / DREAMWORKS : LA CONFRONTATION

Quand Steven Spielberg décide de créer Dreamworks, deux studios d’animation vont alors s’affronter.

Le premier combat commence en 1998 entre 1001 pattes de Pixar et Fourmiz de Dreamworks. Deux films sur les insectes sortent à environ un mois d’intervalle, celui de Pixar étant après celui de Dreamworks. Voici leurs histoires :

“1001 pattes” : Comme chaque année, les sauterelles viennent chercher leur dû auprès de la fourmilière de la Princesse Atta. Tilt, un inventeur aux idées farfelues, va mettre en péril la récolte. Il décide d’aller chercher de l’aide. Mais il ne sait pas que les mercenaires qu’il pense avoir trouvé sont en réalité une troupe de cirque.

“Fourmiz” : Z-4195, fourmi ouvrière, est amoureux de la belle princesse Bala. Simple numero parmi les milliards composant sa colonie, il n’a aucune chance d’attirer le regard de la belle. Pourtant il demande l’aide de son meilleur ami, la fourmi soldat Weaver, afin d’approcher l’élue de son coeur. C’est ainsi que par un caprice du hasard, il parasite involontairement le plan machiavélique de l’ambitieux général Mandibule qui veut tout bonnement liquider la colonie afin de la recréer à son image. Z se retrouve bientot à la tête d’une révolution.

Pixar Planet Disney Affiche 1001 pattesDreamworks Affiche fourmiz

Cependant, nous savons que les films d’animation mettent environ trois-quatre ans pour se faire, donc les deux projets se sont faits en même temps. Qui a eu l’idée le premier ?

En 1988, Disney travaille sur Army Ants, où une fourmi ouvrière pacifiste donne des leçons importantes à sa colonie sur leur façon de pensée très militaire. A l’été 1640, Joe Ranft et Andrew Stanton s’inspirent d’une fable d’Esope pour écrire le scénario de 1001 pattes. En août, John Lasseter présente le scénario à Disney. Le même jour de cette annonce, Jeffrey Katzenberg, le directeur de Disney, quitte le studio et part co-fonder…Dreamworks. Lasseter et Kazsengerb étaient amis et se rendaient visite dans leurs bureaux. Lasseter était ravi de voir un autre studio d’animation travailler avec des images de synthèses. Quand il découvre le scénario de Fourmiz, la tension grimpe entre les deux hommes, surtout que les sorties des deux films sont prévues pour la même année.

“Nous étions la chair à canon dans son combat contre Disney.” (John Lasseter).

Katzenberg fait alors une offre à Disney et Steve Jobs. S’ils décalent la sortie de 1001 pattes (qui devait sortir à la même période que Le Prince d’Egypte, de Dreamworks également), il arrête la production de Fourmiz. Disney refuse et Dreamworks dément cette affaire. Katzenberg réussit à sortir son film avant celui de Pixar et engrange 171 millions de dollars de recettes mondiales. 1001 pattes explose ce chiffre avec 363 millions de dollars.

Pixar Planet Disney 1001 pattes
“1001 pattes”
Dreamworks Fourmiz
“Fourmiz”

Les deux films ont le même univers mais pas le même style et des histoires différentes (malgré le personnage principal qui se dresse contre les autres afin de faire évoluer la société). Pixar a opté pour un style cartoon, des fourmis peu réalistes et des décors variés, tandis que Dreamworks a choisi le sérieux et des décors sombres peu diversifiés (souterrains principalement).

NEMO, OSCAR AND PIERROT

2003 et 2004 sont les années respectives des sorties de Le Monde de Nemo de Pixar, et Gang de Requins de Dreamworks.

Pixar Planet Disney Affiche Le monde de NémoDreamworks Affiche Gang de requins

– “Le Monde de Nemo” : Depuis la mort de sa femme, Marin, un poisson-clown, est très protecteur envers son fils Nemo. Celui-ci pourtant n’hésite pas à s’approcher d’une barque sans faire attention au plongeur qui va le capturer. Marin, accompagné de Dory, un poisson à la mémoire défaillante, vont braver l’océan, à la recherche de Nemo.

– “Gang de requins” : Oscar, un jeune poisson bavard et affabulateur, assiste accidentellement à la mort d’un dangereux requin. Il profite de la situation pour se faire passer pour un grand chasseur de squales. Mais il ignore que le requin en question était le fils de Don Lino, le chef des requins-gangsters.

Cette fois-ci, le plagiat n’est pas vraiment le terme à utiliser ici, tant les films n’ont rien en commun, à part l’océan. Cette fois-ci, le style visuel s’inverse comparé à leur confrontation précédente. Pixar fait un film beaucoup plus réaliste quand Dreamworks se lance dans la caricature et le cartoon.

Une nouvelle fois, Pixar l’emporte haut la main avec 867 millions de dollars au box-office alors que Dreamworks fait une sortie discrète et recueille 367 millions de dollars.

Pixar Planet Disney Le Monde de Némo
Le Monde de Nemo
Dreamworks Gang de requins
Gang de requins

Malgré cette confrontation, Pixar n’est pas à l’abri du plagiat. Franck Le Calvez, un auteur français, assigne Disney pour contrefaçon en raison de son livre Pierrot le poisson-clown.

En 1995, Franck Le Calvez dépose à la SACD (Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques) un scénario de film d’animation mettant en scène un poisson-clown. Devant les échecs à trouver une maison de production, il décide en 2002 de le publier en livre. Cependant, un an plus tard, Pixar sort Le Monde de Nemo.

Pierre le poisson-clown

– “Pierrot le poisson-clown” : Pierrot le poisson-clown vit heureux avec ses parents et Rose, leur anémone protectrice … jusqu’à l’arrivée de Liona la rascasse. Chassée par Rose, Liona s’est promis de se venger et de manger la famille clown. Pierrot doit faire preuve de courage pour lui échapper. Heureusement Pierrot est aidé par de gentils poissons qu’il rencontre tout au long de ses aventures. Avec ses nouveaux amis, il découvre que la vie lui réserve de belles surprises.

Le plus troublant concerne le début des histoires. Les deux débutent dans une anémone où un enfant perd l’un de ses parents suite à l’attaque d’un autre poisson. Le reste du film diffère ensuite. Le Calvez demande, dans sa plainte contre Disney, le retrait à la vente des produits dérivés qui, selon lui, s’inspirent beaucoup de son personnage.

“On y retrouve les mêmes personnages secondaires avec un poisson chirurgien
et une crevette nettoyeuse.” (Frank Le Calvez).

Suite à la sortie du film, de nombreux libraires refusent la publication du livre de Le Calvez, l’accusant de plagier l’oeuvre de Disney. De son côté, Disney affirme que le film de Pixar est une production originale.

“La procédure intentée en France est totalement infondée, car “Le Monde de Nemo”, une œuvre qui appartient à Pixar et Disney, est le fruit d’une création indépendante et ne porte atteinte à aucun droit d’auteur ou de marque.” (Disney).

Le 20 avril 2005, le Tribunal de Grande Instance de Paris déboute Le Calvez, jugeant que les histoires se ressemblent mais ne sont pas similaires. Il doit en plus de cela verser 38 000 euros de dommages et intérêts.

UN PLAGIAT DE JOUETS

1995 est l’année de Pixar en sortant Toy Story. Lui aussi s’est fait plagier.

Dingo Pictures est une sociéte allemande qui reprend des classiques du cinéma d’animation. En ayant déjà copié Le Roi Lion, Bambi et d’autres films de Disney, elle s’attaque à Toy Story.

Pixar Planet Disney Affiche Toy StoryDingo Affiche Picture Toys

– “Toy Story : Une fois qu’Andy n’est plus dans sa chambre, ses jouets prennent vie. Lors de son anniversaire, chacun redoute de se faire remplacer. Sauf Woody, le cow-boy et le jouet préféré du garçon. Sauf que le dernier cadeau va tout changer : Buzz l’Eclair devient très rapidement le jouet numéro 1.

– “Toys” : Dans une chambre d’enfants, les jouets se sentent opprimés dans leur coin. Un garçon recoit un tout nouveau jouet pour son anniversaire. Celui-ci prend rapidement la place de Pino, le jouet favori du garçon. Il décide alors de partir et de ne plus revenir.

Les histoires sont très proches l’une de l’autre. Cependant si Pixar a un style visuel magnifique, ce n’est pas le cas de Dingo Pictures. Le dessin est approximatif, les perspectives ne sont pas respectées et les erreurs de raccords sont nombreux.

LES PIXAR BRESILIENS

Vídeo Brinquedo (Toyland Video) est une société brésilienne qui distribue les oeuvres plagiés de Pixar, Disney et Dreamworks. Plusieurs films des studios à la lampe ont ainsi été copiés.

Ratatoing est tiré de Ratatouille :

Le restaurant le plus raffiné de Rio de Janeiro a pour chef cuisinier…une souris. Tous veulent découvrir le secret du chef Marcell Toing, qui trouvent ses ingrédients grâce à trois souris.

Os Carrinhos (The Little Cars) copie fortement de Cars :

Réchauffez les moteurs et préparez-vous à connaître Rodopolis, une ville où les voitures parlent et pensent comme les gens. Tout en cet endroit tourne autour de la vitesse et chacun pense seulement à la course.

Robozinhos (Tiny Robots) s’inspire de WALL-E :

Dans un avenir éloigné, le peuple de la Terre a laissé la place aux robots. Ces robots ont plusieurs tâches et des obligations. A New Iron vit Trank, un modèle très désuet de robots. Mais quand le leader de la ville apparaît avec un plan épouvantable afin de dominer la planète, Trank est le seul robot capable de lui résister.

What’s up : balloon to the rescue reprend le succès de Pete Docter avec Là-haut :

Docteur Crumb découvre une pierre magique qui transforme sa maison en montgolfière. Cette découverte permet au docteur et à ses compagnons de faire un long voyage. Jean-Pierre, un homme à l’esprit criminel, les détourne. Sans la pierre magique, le groupe va devoir pourtant réussir à s’en sortir.

De la même manière que Dingo Pictures, même si Vídeo Brinquedo le fait en images de synthèse, l’animation est grossière et les textures sont peu travaillées. Elle a même devancé Pixar en proposant des suites à “Os Carrinhos”, qui n’ont heureusement rien à voir avec Cars 2.

LE “LA-HAUT” FRANCAIS

Quand en 2009 Pixar sort au cinéma Là-haut, des étudiants français de l’ESRA (Ecole Supérieure de Réalisation Audiovisuelle) trouvent en ce film une grande ressemblance avec leur court-métrage de fin d’année, Above then Beyond, créé en 2006.

Effectivement, des plans sont similaires entre le court et le long-métrage et le principe de la maison volante est identique. En revanche, le scénario de Là-haut a été écrit en 2004-2005, soit deux ans avant le court-métrage français. En 2004, l’idée du personnage de Carl Fredricksen est là et montre que le personnage date d’avant celui des étudiants de l’ESRA. En 2006, un artwork d’une maison coincée entre deux immeubles est présenté par Pixar.


Pixar : Carl en 2004

Pixar : Maison en 2006

CONCLUSION

Il est facile de trouver dans le cinéma de nombreux films similaires dans leur scénario, cependant tout n’est pas forcément un plagiat. Certains créateurs en profitent pour porter des plaintes pour une ressemblance même infime ou fortuite, en espérant gagner de l’argent en procès.

Il arrive que sur Internet on trouve des vidéos qui ressemblent beaucoup à Pixar, tel ce court-métrage qui reprend la bande audio et les plans de “Presto”. Mais ceci est un exercice d’un étudiant en animation qui devait refaire une production existante.